Fifty Shades Series by E.L. James

Fifty Shades of Grey: When literature student Anastasia Steele is drafted to interview the successful young entrepreneur Christian Grey for her campus magazine, she finds him attractive, enigmatic and intimidating. Convinced their meeting went badly, she tries to put Grey out of her mind – until he happens to turn up at the out-of-town hardware store where she works part-time.

Fifty Shades Darker: Daunted by the singular sexual tastes and dark secrets of the beautiful, tormented young entrepreneur Christian Grey, Anastasia Steele has broken off their relationship to start a new career with a Seattle publishing house. But desire for Christian still dominates her every waking thought, and when he proposes a new arrangement, Anastasia cannot resist. They rekindle their

Fifty Shades Freed: Now, together, they have more – love, passion, intimacy, and a world of infinite possibilities. But Ana always knew that loving her Fifty Shades would not be easy, and being together poses challenges neither of them ever anticipated. Ana must somehow learn to share Christian’s opulent lifestyle without sacrificing her own integrity, identity or independence; Christian must somehow overcome his compulsion to control, and lay to rest the horrors that blighted his past and haunt his present. Just when it seems that together their love can conquer any obstacle, misfortune, malice and fate combine to make Ana’s worst nightmares come true. Alone and desperate, she must face down the poisoned legacy of Christian’s past.  searing sensual affair, and Anastasia learns more about the harrowing past of her damaged, driven and demanding Fifty Shades. While Christian wrestles with his inner demons, Anastasia must confront the anger and envy of the women who came before her, and make the most important decision of her life

I read these books because I wanted to know what all the hype was about. Honestly I barely finished the first book. I found the series to be poorly written, poorly edited, and predictable. The redundancy in the statements by the female character drove me crazy. I almost stopped reading it just because of how many times the she said “Oh my” or “Shit”. Neither character was the least bit believable and I constantly found myself rolling my eyes at the pages. Nor do I understand all the people who post about how these books will spice up your sex life. The only way I can think they’ll spice it up is because you’d rather be having sex with your bf/husband than reading these books, because they really aren’t as imaginative as people make them out to be. There is a lot more talk than action.

Stars: 2/5 (and I’m being generous with the 2).

2 thoughts on “Fifty Shades Series by E.L. James

  1. My dad just had me order this for him since all the hype lately. I’m excited to see what it’s about. I wish I didn’t know now that it’s poorly written, poorly edited and predictable. Thank you though – maybe I won’t waste my time and I’ll just listen to my dad’s opinion, haha.

Leave a Reply

