The Wolves of Mercy #1-3 by Maggie Stiefvater (Teen Paranormal Romance)

Shiver: Grace and Sam share a kinship so close they could be lovers or siblings. But they also share a problem. When the temperature slips towards freezing, Sam reverts to his wolf identity and must retreat into the woods to protect his pack. He worries that eventually his human side will fade away and he will be left howling alone at the lonely moon. A stirring supernatural teen romance.

Linger: In Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver, Grace and Sam found each other. Now, in Linger, they must fight to be together. For Grace, this means defying her parents and keeping a very dangerous secret about her own well-being. For Sam, this means grappling with his werewolf past . . . and figuring out a way to survive into the future. Add into the mix a new wolf named Cole, whose own past has the potential to destroy the whole pack. And Isabelle, who already lost her brother to the wolves . . . and is nonetheless drawn to Cole.

Forever: then. When Sam met Grace, he was a wolf and she was a girl. Eventually he found a way to become a boy, and their love transformed from curious distance to the intense closeness of shared lives. now. That should have been the end of their story. But Grace was not meant to stay human. Now she is the wolf. And the wolves of Mercy Falls are about to be hunted in one final, spectacular kill. forever. Sam would do anything for Grace. But can one boy and one love really change a hostile, predatory world? The past, the present, and the future will all collide in one pure moment – a moment of death or life, farewell or forever.

 

Maggie Stiefvater’s “Wolves of Mercy” trilogy was very well written. Good characters, good plot, good story. I did find the first few chapters of the books slow, but halfway through the book I was completely engrossed and couldn’t put the book down. I found myself pulling for Grace and Sam and every time something gets in their way I got angry and wanted to take matters into my own hands. Even with Cole and Isabel I kept trying to get everything right between them. The end of the series shocked me a bit. While a few things were tied together I felt like too much was left unresolved. It could be that Stiefvater wanted us to come to our own conclusions and build our own endings, but I much prefer to have the author resolve the endings for me. I will definitely be reading more by this author.

Stars: 3.5/5

2 thoughts on “The Wolves of Mercy #1-3 by Maggie Stiefvater (Teen Paranormal Romance)

  1. I’ve bought “Shiver” and read it…um. It was okay I guess. I am very keen on werewolf novels, but… somehow Grace was very irritating and superficial, to the point that I had lost any desire to read anything else of this author.
    I think it’s the type of books that is solely destined for early teenage audience.

  2. I’m not sure age has anything to do with it (I am in my mid twenties). I think one of the reasons I liked this series so much was it didn’t have the “love triangle” so many authors are doing since Twilight came out. It was always Sam and Grace. I found Grace to be a bit like that in Shiver but by the second and third book I felt like I understood her and her actions and behaviors in Shiver made sense.

Leave a Reply

