Rebecca by Daphne DuMaurier (Fiction)

“Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again”,With these words, the reader is ushered into an isolated gray stone mansion on the windswept Cornish coast, as the second Mrs. Maxim de Winter recalls the chilling events that transpired as she began her new life as the young bride of a husband she barely knew. For in every corner of every room were phantoms of a time dead but not forgotten a past devotedly preserved by the sinister housekeeper, Mrs. Danvers: a suite immaculate and untouched, clothing laid out and ready to be worn, but not by any of the great house’s current occupants. With an eerie presentiment of evil tightening her heart, the second Mrs. de Winter walked in the shadow of her mysterious predecessor, determined to uncover the darkest secrets and shattering truths about Maxim’s first wife the late and hauntingly beautiful Rebecca.

I have put off reading this book forever. I  knew I was going to like it since it is exactly the type of book I always end up liking the problem is I also love the movie. I felt though that if I read the book the book would either diminish my love for the movie, or the movie would diminish my love for the book. Thankfully Hitchcock stuck so close to the book with his movie that I never felt like something was off. If anything having seen the movie allowed me a more vivid image that DuMaurier was trying to pain, now if only the movie was in color, since DuMaurier goes into great detail the detail and colors of Manderley and the grounds of the estate. I now really want to read more by DuMaurier, she is such an amazing writer. This book is now my second favorite book ever (Gone with the Wind will always be number 1 lol). I highly recommend this book to everyone. It really is a book anyone (at the appropriate reading level) can read and enjoy.

Stars: 5/5

Leave a Reply

