Venom (Secrets of the Eternal Rose #1) by Fiona Paul (Teen Romance) ARC

This book is an advanced readers copy and will be on sale: Oct. 10

Cassandra Caravello is one of Renaissance Venice’s lucky elite: with elegant gowns, sparkling jewels, her own lady’s maid, and a wealthy fiancé, she has everything a girl could desire. Yet ever since her parents’ death, Cassandra has felt trapped, alone in a city of water, where the dark and labyrinthine canals whisper of escape. When Cass stumbles upon a murdered woman—practically in her own backyard—she’s drawn into a dangerous world of courtesans, killers, and secret societies. Soon, she finds herself falling for Falco, a mysterious artist with a mischievous grin… and a spectacular skill for trouble. Can Cassandra find the murderer, before he finds her? And will she stay true to her fiancé, or succumb to her uncontrollable feelings for Falco?

 

This book was okay. I was expecting better from the synopsis and reviews it had. The only part that kept me interested was trying to figure out who the murderer was. For most of the book I was hoping they were all in it together. I didn’t like Falco or Luca (Cass’s betrothed). I liked Cass though. No matter who tried to stop her or what hurdles got in her way she didn’t what she thought was best, while still considering those around her. The ending was eh, though I know there is going to be another book so we’ll see. I’m not sure I’m interested in reading the next book. All around the book was just kind of Blah. I can’t pin point any reason why this book was so blah to me, it just was. I also can’t figure out why it’s called Venom. There are no poisonous animals, potions of anything else like that so the title confuses me. The series is also called the Secrets of the Eternal Rose and there are excerpts in the book for the SotER throughout, but is only mentioned once in the story itself. I may give the next book a try, but its going to have to fill in a lot of blanks.

Stars: 3/5

3 thoughts on “Venom (Secrets of the Eternal Rose #1) by Fiona Paul (Teen Romance) ARC

Leave a Reply

