My Boyfriend Merlin (My Merlin #1) by Priya Ardis (Teen Paranormal Romance)

In this modern Arthurian, 17 year-old Boston high schooler Arriane, aka Ryan, DuLac just found out the guy she’s been crushing on, hot biker Matt, is a little older than he was letting on. In fact, he is really Merlin—the Merlin, King Arthur’s Merlin, the greatest wizard who ever lived. Frozen in a cave for over fifteen hundred years, he’s woken for a purpose. But Ryan’s not impressed. Tired of being a relationship loser, she’d rather kick his legendary behind. Sure, the world has been crazy ever since the sword and the stone fell out of the sky like a meteor. But despite gruesome gargoyles, a deadly new world of magic, and the guy driving her crazy, Ryan knows that family is everything. Will Merlin sacrifice hers to save the world? Will she be able to stop him?

I’ve always had a thing for King Arthur/Camelot/Merlin. One of my favorite shows is Merlin on BBC and one of my favorite movies/books is The Mists of Avalon (the book is written by Marion Zimmerman Bradley). I had seen this book on another bloggers page and decided to see if it was available on my Nook,it was and for only $0.99. The summary sounded interesting so I bought it. I had a hard time getting into it, but after the second chapter I completely fell in love with the book. The only thing I would change is the love triangle, though it works for the book I am just sick of every teen book having to have a love triangle. The love triangle was very “Vampire Diaries” to me. I liked Ryan and ever Matt, aka Merlin, is likeable if not a bit obnoxious. I have to say the side characters were my favorite (Gia, Gary, etc). I was intrigued by Ryan’s choice at the end of the book so I’ve already purchased the next book in the series (for $2.99 on my Nook it was too hard to pass up purchasing seconds after finishing the first book). I have a few other books I need to finish before I start it, but I’m excited to see where this story goes.

Stars: 3/5

Leave a Reply

