Frenchman’s Creek by Daphne du Maurier (Fiction)

frenchmans_creek_by_daphne_dumaurierFrenchman’s Creek, set in 17th-century England, is an absorbing tale of adventure, danger and passion. Lady St. Columb is bored with fashionable life at Court so she sets off for the peace and freedom of her husband’s Cornwall estate. Quite unexpectedly, she stumbles on the mooring place of the white-sailed ship belonging to the daring Frenchman who plunders the shores of Cornwall. It is only a question of time before this philosopher-pirate captures the heart of the lovely Lady St. Columb. Satisfying, romantic, swashbuckling action. A Cover to Cover Unabridged Classic.

I will say this book took me almost 2 months to read. It’s not that it was bad, in fact it was very good, but like most classics it’s not a totally easy read. It became my bath tub book and since I don’t have a lot of time to sit in the tub and relax it took me awhile to get through it. I will say once I got about halfway through the book got very interesting and became very hard to put down. I would find myself sitting in the tub until the water started to get cold reading this book. I will say I still prefer Rebecca. I don’t think anything I read my du Maurier will ever come close to Rebecca. You find yourself being pulled in by the character and your heartbreaking for them as well. I loved Dona and the Frenchman. But if you like british fiction I do recommend this book. It’s exciting and heartbreaking and everything du Maurier does best.

Stars: 3.5/5

4 thoughts on “Frenchman’s Creek by Daphne du Maurier (Fiction)

  1. I love DuMaurier. Thanks for this reminder about Fisherman’s Creek. It’s been too long since I read it. And you have the perfect way to read it: “A bath tub book.” Nice.

Leave a Reply

