The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky (Fiction)

ImageCharlie is a freshman. And while he’s not the biggest geek in the school, he is by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his years yet socially awkward, he is a wallflower, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it. Charlie is attempting to navigate his way through uncharted territory: the world of first dates and mix-tapes, family dramas and new friends; the world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite. But Charlie can’t stay on the sideline forever. Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor.

I didn’t know what to expect when I started this book. I had heard from people that it is better to go into the book not knowing anything about it. I have to say I’m glad I didn’t know what to expect it made it that much better. That being said I’m not going to go into depth about my likes and dislikes and why of this book so that if you haven’t read it and you decide too it won’t be ruined for you. I cannot say that I enjoyed it, but I did. It’s one of those books where the book itself is really good, but because of characters, plots, and situations it is not an easy read. The Perks of Being a Wallflower is one of those books. The author obviously knew what he was doing when he wrote the book and the reaction he was going for. I will say don’t go in expecting the book to be in normal book format. The book is written as a series of letters that the main character is writing to “a friend”. That threw me for a minute and I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to get past it. Obviously I did. I ended up starting and finishing the book in a matter of hours. I stayed up way to late finishing it when I had to be up super early the next day because I couldn’t stop reading. I am pleasantly surprised this book is required high school reading and hasn’t been banned because of certain situations in the book. It makes me have a higher respect for the school system (at least here in California- I don’t know about other states). If you haven’t read this book I suggest you do so, but be careful about your expectations going into it if you are one of those people that know nothing about it, this book is not for everyone. 

Stars: 4/5

One thought on “The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky (Fiction)

  1. Pingback: Looking Back: The Top 10 Books I Read in 2013 | reading7mandy

Leave a Reply

