Looking for Alaska by John Green (Teen Fiction)

ImageBefore. Miles “Pudge” Halter’s whole existence has been one big nonevent, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave the “Great Perhaps” (François Rabelais, poet) even more. Then he heads off to the sometimes crazy, possibly unstable, and anything-but-boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life becomes the opposite of safe. Because down the hall is Alaska Young. The gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, self-destructive, screwed-up, and utterly fascinating Alaska Young, who is an event unto herself. She pulls Pudge into her world, launches him into the Great Perhaps, and steals his heart.
After. Nothing is ever the same.

Stars: 3.5/5

I had read this book before, but it was back around 2006 when it was first published. I really did enjoy this book more now than I did back then. But after having just read The Fault in Our Stars I didn’t get as emotionally invested in the characters as I probably would have if I had read it before. John Green is like the Nicholas Sparks of teen fiction. I couldn’t really like any of the characters much though I very much enjoyed the story. Few of the characters had truly likable qualities and even when I read this book back in 2006 I remember thinking that kids didn’t really talk or act like this. At least not any kids I’d ever met. I felt the characters were unrealistic as were some of their actions to the problems, I did find the problems in the story to be realistic. John Green has this way of drawing you into the story no matter what. 

 

Leave a Reply

