The Spectacular Now by Tim Tharp (teen fiction)

ImageSUTTER KEELY. HE’S the guy you want at your party. He’ll get everyone dancing. He’ ll get everyone in your parents’ pool. Okay, so he’s not exactly a shining academic star. He has no plans for college and will probably end up folding men’s shirts for a living. But there are plenty of ladies in town, and with the help of Dean Martin and Seagram’s V.O., life’s pretty fabuloso, actually. Until the morning he wakes up on a random front lawn, and he meets Aimee. Aimee’s clueless. Aimee is a social disaster. Aimee needs help, and it’s up to the Sutterman to show Aimee a splendiferous time and then let her go forth and prosper. But Aimee’s not like other girls, and before long he’s in way over his head. For the first time in his life, he has the power to make a difference in someone else’s life—or ruin it forever.

Stars: 3/5

Let me start of this post by saying I’ve got the flu. I’ve been up and down with a fever for 3 days and I feel like there is a fire in my throat and an elephant on my chest so if this post is less sense than usual you know why. 

I only found out about this book because I saw the movie trailer. It looked really good and sense I knew I wasn’t going to be getting to the theater anytime soon I’d go ahead and read the book first. I’m not sure this has ever happened to me before, but reading the book may have killed my interest in seeing the movie. I wasn’t sure that was possible, but apparently it is. They way the book overview and the movie trailer makes the book seem like this wonderful rainbows and sunshine coming of age story where the misdirected youth, the cool guy, the party guy, the guy everyone loves, finds an unexpected relationship with a smart, shy girl who will change him forever, give him direction and even if they don’t stay together and the end they will have parted for the better. That being said that is this book… to an extent. I don’t think Sutter changed Aimee for the better, not as a whole. The only real good thing he did for her was give her the confidence to stand up for herself. Everything else I don’t think needed changing and even if it did he went about it in the completely wrong way. She would have done anything for Sutter, which is not good, and he played on that. Honestly, I just hate Sutter, he’s the guy you like to party with, but once you leave the party or the bar you don’t want much to do with him. The thing that really bugs me is people tried to talk to Sutter about what he was doing to Aimee, but no one ever tried to talk to Aimee about it. You may think, well the author was just trying to be realistic, but if you think about it, but none of it is really all that realistic, this book reads more like “She’s All That” without the laughs and with more booze. 

Leave a Reply

