The Chocolate War (The Chocolate War #1) by Robert Cormier (Juvenile/Teen Ficition)

ImageJerry Renault ponders the question on the poster in his locker: Do I dare disturb the universe? Refusing to sell chocolates in the annual Trinity school fund-raiser may not seem like a radical thing to do. But when Jerry challenges a secret school society called The Vigils, his defiant act turns into an all-out war. Now the only question is: Who will survive? 

Stars: 3.5/5

The synopsis above does not do this book justice. The Chocolate War reminds me a bit of George Orwell’s Animal Farm. I picked up this book because it’s a book that is constantly banned and last week was banned books week. I finished it a few days ago, but it’s been a busy weekend. Anyways, back to the book. When I first read about this book I was thinking more a teen version of The Skulls (you know the movie with Paul Walker and Joshua Jackson). It wasn’t really like that at all. The secret society The Vigils only have a small part, its focuses more on one of their members and his agenda. Then you have Jerry. I didn’t really connect with Jerry, I didn’t understand him. I actually didn’t like many characters of this book, except for maybe Goob, but he’s only it little parts here and there. Really I shouldn’t like this book at all, but I did. There’s just something about it that pulls you in. I can’t really explain it better than that. I’m definitely going to be grabbing Beyond the Chocolate War though as the end of The Chocolate War doesn’t give you a real ending. It’s not a cliff hanger, but it leaves you with the knowledge that it isn’t over yet. 

Leave a Reply

