Beaches by Iris Rainer Dart (Fiction)

ImageLoudmouthed, redheaded Cee Cee Bloom has her sights set on Hollywood. Bertie White, quiet and conservative, dreams of getting married and having children. In 1951, their childhood worlds collide in Atlantic City. Keeping in touch as pen pals, they reunite over the years … always near the ocean.Powerful and moving, this novel follows Cee Cee and Bertie’s extraordinary friendship over the course of thirty years as they transform from adolescents into adults.

Stars: 5/5

First I love this movie and I’m devastated I only just yesterday found out it was also a book. The movie is always different than the book, but I must say they kept the movie pretty close to the book. When I started reading it I felt like I already knew the characters, so I loved that in the book I got to get to know them even more in depth. By the end I was crying just as much if not more than I do at the end of the movie. It’s like I could hear “The Wind Beneath My Wings” playing in my head at the end of this book just like in the movie.  Honestly, I can’t even figure out how to describe my love for this book and why you should read it. You just should.

One thought on “Beaches by Iris Rainer Dart (Fiction)

  1. Pingback: Looking Back: The Top 10 Books I Read in 2013 | reading7mandy

Leave a Reply

