Deceptions’s Princess (#1) by Esther M. Friesner (Teen Fantasy Adventure)

I read this as an Advanced Readers Copy and is expected to publish in 2014.

deceptions princessSome lies lead to true adventure….Maeve, princess of Connacht, was born with her fists clenched. And it’s her spirit and courage that make Maeve her father’s favorite daughter. But once he becomes the High King, powerful men begin to circle-it’s easy to love the girl who brings her husband a kingdom. Yet Maeve is more than a prize to be won, and she’s determined to win the right to decide her own fate. In the court’s deadly game of intrigue, she uses her wits to keep her father’s friends and enemies close-but not too close. When she strikes up an unlikely friendship with the son of a visiting druid, Maeve faces a brutal decision between her loyalty to her family and to her own heart.

Stars: 3/5

This overview made me automatically think of Disney’s Brave movie, but that’s about as far as it went as the book is nothing like Brave, though I do think Maeve can be compared to Meridia. This book was an up and down book. Sometimes I’d be completely sucked in and then sometimes I’d be bored with it. It was inconsistent. There was also way too much going on. I kept having to go back pages to see if I missed something. The plot was good though, but I’m not sure it held my interest enough to finish the series, though it I can get ARC’s of all them I might read them.

Leave a Reply

