Flowers in the Attic (Lifetime Remake)

Image

So Lifetime did a remake of on V.C. Andrews’ controversial, cult classic book, Flowers in the Attic. It tells the story of the Dollanganger kids who, after the unexpected death of their father, are convinced to stay hidden in the attic of their crazy ruthless Grandmother by their mother who proceeds to forget all about them as she gets swept back into the world of the rich.

Image

My mom is a huge V.C. Andrews fan and I grew up reading her books, though I was never as big a fan as my mother, but Flowers in the Attic was one of the books that really stuck with me (also Petals on the Wind, the sequel to Flowers). I know I had seen the movie a lot as a kid as whenever it was on my mom would watch it, but I remember the first time I watched it after I had read the book when I was 10 my mom and I watched the movie and I remember it all finally clicking together. I was disturbed, of course, but I really enjoyed the movie, so when I saw it was getting a remake with Ellen Burstyn I was a little excited, and then a little less excited when I saw some of the other casting.

Stars: 2/5

The only reason this is getting a 2 and not a 1 is because of Ellen Burstyn. I love her and she is the only thing that made the movie bearable even though she was barely in it. The movie itself was a train wreck. I thought maybe Lifetime was getting better with it’s movies (as I enjoyed Bonnie & Clyde, but I guess since that was Lifetime, The History Channel and A&E it’s different). The girl who played Cathy reminded me of Kristen Stewart who I can’t stand and the guy who played Christopher was just blah, didn’t see enough of the little kids. Now lets get to Heather Graham… WHAT WERE THEY THINKING!?! Ugh! What horrible casting, she was so unbelievable. I don’t dislike Heather Graham, I like her in comedy movies, but she is not a dramatic actress. I know some will disagree with me, but this was not a good role for her and I find it sad she’s been delegated to a lifetime movie when she’s still young. It’s one thing for an actress like Ellen Burstyn who can play anything to be in a lifetime movie as she’s older and can do whatever she wants. I was looking forward to this movie, but the only thing that kept me watching it was watching it with my sister via facebook (she posted a status about how awful the first 10 minutes were and we just kept counting down the whole movie while watching it). 

I still want to watch Lizzie Borden with Christina Ricci, but I’m going in with really low expectations as I had my hopes up for Flowers in the Attic and we all know how I feel about that movie.

Leave a Reply

