Heat Rises (Nikki Heat #3) by Richard Castle (Mystery)- And my thoughts on the Castle season finale…

Heat RisesThe bizarre murder of a parish priest at a New York bondage club opens Nikki Heat’s most thrilling and dangerous case so far, pitting her against New York’s most vicious drug lord, an arrogant CIA contractor, and a shadowy death squad out to gun her down. And that is just the tip of an iceberg that leads to a dark conspiracy reaching all the way to the highest level of the NYPD. But when she gets too close to the truth, Nikki finds herself disgraced, stripped of her badge, and out on her own as a target for killers, with nobody she can trust. Except maybe the one man in her life who’s not a cop: reporter Jameson Rook. In the midst of New York’s coldest winter in a hundred years, there’s one thing Nikki is determined to prove: Heat Rises.

Stars: 3.5/5

This book started out much like the other 2, I muddled through the first half of the book, it took me about 18 days to get halfway through this book. Then I got to the halfway point and the book finally picked up and I finished it in a matter of hours. The last half of this book gave me what I had been waiting 2.5 books for. I finally felt that connection to the characters and the story. I’m now actually looking forward to reading the next book and I can only hope the momentum keeps going and it doesn’t start to lull again.

And Can we talk about the Castle season finale for a second? WHAT THE HELL?!?! OMG! We all know he wasn’t n the suv, but I am so bitter we went through the whole episode only to get jipped at the end. Couldn’t they have made it happen AFTER THE WEDDING! (I’m a little bitter if you can’t tell. Even Bones and Booth got their happy moment after an episode if we wondered whether or not it would actually happen.) I don’t know how I’m going to get through summer waiting for the new season.

Leave a Reply

