The One (The Selection #3) by Kiera Cass (Teen Fantasy/Romance)

The OneThe Selection changed the lives of thirty-five girls forever. And now, the time has come for one winner to be chosen. America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the competition approaches its end and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants. From the very first page of The Selection, this #1 New York Times bestselling series has captured readers’ hearts and swept them away on a captivating journey… Now, in The One, Kiera Cass delivers a satisfying and unforgettable conclusion that will keep readers sighing over this electrifying fairy-tale long after the final page is turned.

Stars: 3.5/5

Endings of books have to be done very well for a series to conclude. I felt this was one of the books that did conclude very well. It wasn’t completely “Fairy-tales and Happy Ever After”, but more realistic. There were times in the book I rolled my eyes and went “really?” and there were even times I got tears in my eyes. I love America, I was rooting for her the whole time even when I was annoyed with her in ability to make a decision, but in this book we saw her grow and become the person we always knew she could be. Honestly I don’t much like Maxon or Aspen and I was kinda hoping she’d tell them both to get lost, but of course she had to make a choice, I’m just glad she could make a choice and in the right way. It didn’t take either of them doing something horrible (cough Mockingjay cough) for her to realize her feelings for one were more than the other. I would have liked to see a bit more with what happened to the Northern Rebels once everything hit the fan, but all in all I was satisfied by the series conclusion (the the epilogue was pretty unnecessary).

Leave a Reply

