The Collector by Nora Roberts (Romance)

The CollectorWhen professional house-sitter Lila Emerson witnesses a murder/suicide from her current apartment-sitting job, life as she knows it takes a dramatic turn. Suddenly, the woman with no permanent ties finds herself almost wishing for one. . . . Artist Ashton Archer knows his brother isn’t capable of violence—against himself or others. He recruits Lila, the only eyewitness, to help him uncover what happened. Ash longs to paint her as intensely as he hungers to touch her. But their investigation draws them into a rarified circle where priceless antiques are bought, sold, gambled away, and stolen, where what you possess is who you are, and where what you desire becomes a deadly obsession.

Stars: 3/5

This is probably one out of small amount of Nora Roberts books I’m giving less than 4 stars too. Lila, Ashton and the other characters were all exactly what they were supposed to be and my issue isn’t with the characters, as far as characters go Nora Roberts has done it again. It wasn’t the plot of the book either (though I feel like she’s done a similar plot before). The plot was very good I like the idea of stolen artifacts and murderers, etc. My problem with this book was the pacing. With most of Nora Robert’s “romantic thrillers” I put this in quotes because I put Nora Roberts into 3 different romance categories- thriller, fantasy, and contemporary) with this type of her books I’m usually glued to the page freaking out about whats going on and anxiously awaiting what happens next, I wasn’t with this book. If you read my last post you saw that I had to put my cat down last week and I have been extremely depressed, I was really hoping the new Nora Roberts book would get me out of my head for a bit, but unfortunately this one fell short of getting me out of my head. I still love Nora Roberts and this book wasn’t bad, but it was sub-par compared to her other books. I’m still ridiculously looking forward to the new In Death book that will release in September.

Leave a Reply

