Son (The Giver Quartet #4) by Lois Lowry (Juvenile Fiction)

SonThey called her Water Claire. When she washed up on their shore, no one knew that she came from a society where emotions and colors didn’t exist. That she had become a Vessel at age thirteen. That she had carried a Product at age fourteen. That it had been stolen from her body. Claire had a son. But what became of him she never knew. What was his name? Was he even alive? She was supposed to forget him, but that was impossible. Now Claire will stop at nothing to find her child, even if it means making an unimaginable sacrifice.

Stars: 3/5

None of the Quartet ever comes close to being as good as The Giver, but it’s interesting to see how everything connects. Son is probably my least favorite of the series, but it was still beautifully written. Lowry truly has a way with words. Because this book ties up all the other books I feel as if anything I say will give away something and you all know I try to avoid spoilers. We do get to see all of the stories finally come together and learn what has happened to the characters we have come to know and love though I would have liked the ending to go on a few more sentences so we can see young Claire meet her son and what happened to Gabe on his trip home. 

3 thoughts on “Son (The Giver Quartet #4) by Lois Lowry (Juvenile Fiction)

  1. I agree! I’ve been a Giver fan since I first read it in middle school, but nothing compares to the original. Good review!
    I was going to ask if you would mind if I linked to some of your reviews from time to time? I’m interested in showcasing your reviews in my journal theblacklionjournal.wordpress.com. I’ll attribute your reviews to you so you will always have source credit. Plus, I’m not interested in stealing anything, I’m only interested in having reviews for my review section. Let me know whichever way if you would mind. Thanks!

    • Thank you! I feel like I’ve waited forever for this book as I remember reading The Giver in school and decided to read the whole series just this last year.

      As long as credit is given to me in some way feel free to use any of my reviews. Thank you so much for wanting to use them!

Leave a Reply

