Darkness Before Dawn (Darkness Before Dawn #1) by J.A. London (Teen Paranormal/Romance)

Darkness Before DawnWe built the wall to keep them out, to keep us safe. But it also makes us prisoners, trapped in what’s left of our ravaged city, fearing nightfall. After the death of my parents, it’s up to me—as the newest delegate for humanity—to bargain with our vampire overlord. I thought I was ready. I thought I knew everything there was to know about the monsters. Then again, nothing could have prepared me for Lord Valentine . . . or his son. Maybe not all vampires are killers. Maybe it’s safe to let one in. Only one thing is certain: Even the wall is not enough. A war is coming and we cannot hide forever.

Stars: 3/5

I can’t say why I didn’t like this book, but I didn’t, at least not until the end. Even now though I can’t say I liked it. I’m intrigued by it though and I’m planning on reading the next book. I’m giving 3 stars because it was a good book, it’s just a personal dislike I have for it. I think most of it has to do with Dawn’s relationships with the people around here, her boyfriend, her best friend, etc. there just isn’t a connection there with any of them, even her relationship with Victor is meh. Until the end we get and everything starts to unravel do we really get to see her connect to anyway and by then it’s hard to care. I enjoyed the plot even though the beginning dragged and only the last few chapters were all that interesting. The first two-thirds of the book is a lot of filler and not a lot of action. While I don’t much care for the characters the story has me intrigued enough to give the rest of the series a chance.

One thought on “Darkness Before Dawn (Darkness Before Dawn #1) by J.A. London (Teen Paranormal/Romance)

Leave a Reply

