Dream a Little Dream (Silber #1) by Kerstin Gier (Teen Fantasy/Adventure)

DreamMysterious doors with lizard-head knobs. Talking stone statues. A crazy girl with a hatchet. Yes, Liv’s dreams have been pretty weird lately. Especially the one where she’s in a graveyard at night, watching four boys conduct dark magic rituals. The strangest part is that Liv recognizes the boys in her dream. They’re classmates from her new school in London, the school where she’s starting over because her mom has moved them to a new country (again). But what’s really scaring Liv is that the dream boys seem to know things about her in real life, things they couldn’t possibly know–unless they actually arein her dreams? Luckily, Liv never could resist a good mystery, and all four of those boys are pretty cute.

Stars: 3.5/5

This book reminded me a lot of Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Boys series, but it was just different enough to make it it’s own. My biggest issue with this book is the parents. No ones Mom is that intellectually brilliant, but that stupid as a parent. It’s one thing to give your kids space but Liv’s mom is like the absent minded professor. She treats her children like a mix between an adult and a puppy. She oohs and aahs over them, but doesn’t do anything else. They have an au pair who looks after them, but even then she’s kind of ditzy too. When we move past the parental issues I really liked this book. Dreams, demons, and love WITHOUT A LOVE TRIANGLE! At least so far anyways. I can’t say there won’t be one later in the series. I’m intrigued to see where Gier goes with the rest of the series. I loved her Ruby Red series, though was a little confused on that ending so we’ll see how this one goes.

4 thoughts on “Dream a Little Dream (Silber #1) by Kerstin Gier (Teen Fantasy/Adventure)

  1. First off the cover is gorgeous, this book looks good. I might try it out sometime, I have not read the Raven boys so that part wouldn’t matter to me. Nice review 🙂

  2. I’ve been debating whether or not to read this one. I liked the first book in the Ruby Red Trilogy, but book 2 was just okay for me and I don’t think I’ll be continuing on. This book looks good, but I’m hesitant after my relationship with Ruby Red.

    • Completely different plots, though the heroines have a lot of the same qualities, but I think most teen heroines do these days. My biggest issue with this book was the adults which was different than the problems that I had with the Ruby Red trilogy, so depending on what your issues with the Ruby Red series is you might like this book.

      • Thanks for the information! I had trouble connecting with Ruby Red’s characters. I might read this one eventually, I’ll have to wait and see if I’m ever in the mood for it.

Leave a Reply

