City of Heavenly Fire (Mortal Instruments #6) by Cassandra Clare (Teen Fantasy/Adventure)

City of Heavenly FireSebastian Morgenstern is on the move, systematically turning Shadowhunter against Shadowhunter. Bearing the Infernal Cup, he transforms Shadowhunters into creatures out of nightmare, tearing apart families and lovers as the ranks of his Endarkened army swell. The embattled Shadowhunters withdraw to Idris – but not even the famed demon towers of Alicante can keep Sebastian at bay. And with the Nephilim trapped in Idris, who will guard the world against demons? When one of the greatest betrayals the Nephilim have ever known is revealed, Clary, Jace, Isabelle, Simon, and Alec must flee – even if their journey takes them deep into the demon realms, where no Shadowhunter has set foot before, and from which no human being has ever returned… Love will be sacrificed and lives lost in the terrible battle for the fate of the word in the thrilling final installment of the classic urban fantasy series The Mortal Instruments!

Stars: 3.5/5

I FINALLY finished the Mortal Instruments series! I enjoyed books 1-3 books 4 and 5 bugged me and I really still believe Clare should have just stopped there, waited a few years and then released books 4-6 as a separate series. It just felt like too much happening at once, because it was RIGHT after. I think a year or so gap between Valentine and Sebastian would have given it more plausibility. That said I enjoyed this book. It was the right ending for what was going on, though I didn’t see the whole thing with Simon happening at the end and I hope in her next series about the Shadowhunters we will get to see how he progresses. Clare has stated that she wants to write 5 Shadowhunter series. So far we have The Mortal Instruments and His Infernal Devices. The Magnus Bane series is considered a spin-off and not a part of the 5 (I’m not reading those). I will probably read the next series set to release, The Dark Artifices. In that series we go back to Julian and Emma who we met in this book and I’m intrigued to see where she takes them and I enjoyed their characters. I probably won’t read The Last Hours which goes back to His Infernal Devices and focuses on Will and Tessa’s children (I just didn’t enjoy HID enough) and there is no overview of The Wicked Powers so I won’t know if i’ll read that series till I know what it’s about.  I’m kind of hoping it’s about the Faerie’s going to war with the Shadowhunters because of how this book ended. All in all I enjoy Clare’s writing and would recommend the series.

Leave a Reply

